Indian Forum for Water Adroit

Materials and Methods => Models => Topic started by: nsalimian on January 05, 2017, 07:23:52 PM

Title: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 05, 2017, 07:23:52 PM
Hi everybody
I have downloaded VIC 5.0.0 and I want to work with Stehekin sample data for starting. I created the vic_classic.exe file. what command should I exactly use to read the global parameter file? I know about vic_classic.exe -g global_param.STEHE but I don't know exactly how to use it because the exe file and the global parameter file are in two different folders. I tried moving the exe to the folder that the global parameter file exists but I get this error: "[ERROR] ../shared_all/src/open_file.c:61: errno: No such file or directory: Unable to open File ${VIC_SAMPLE_DATA}/classic/Stehekin/Stehekin_soil.txt".
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Sat Kumar Tomer on January 06, 2017, 10:07:47 PM
HI,

Which operating system you are using?

Please attach the screenshot of command you used.
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 07, 2017, 11:52:39 AM
I'm using ubuntu. the screen shot is attached. tnx
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: thiyaku on January 09, 2017, 05:41:39 PM
HI,
I feel no need to move the *.exe file. One can run run vic from anydirectory. Try like this /path/to/vic_classic.exe_folder/vic_classic.exe -g /path/to/global_param_folder/global_param.STEHE
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 09, 2017, 10:38:16 PM
Dear salimian
Pls Check the directory for soil parameter file in the Global parameter
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 10, 2017, 02:22:56 PM
Dear thiyaku, Dear Diwan
I still get this error.At first I had kept the directory of parameter files the same as they were when downloaded. so the "Stehekin_soil.txt" was in the parameters folder. But when I run the vic_classic.exe, the error says "No such file or directory: Unable to open File ${VIC_SAMPLE_DATA}/classic/Stehekin/Stehekin_soil.txt". I copied the soil.txt file and put in this directory, but again I get this error. I even tried changing this part in the global_param_file, but it did not work. If anyone has worked with this sample data, I will be grateful if they could tell me what steps did they do exactly. Thank you
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 10, 2017, 05:35:44 PM
Pls attach the command and global parameter file you used
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 10, 2017, 08:01:09 PM
Dear Diwan
I solved the problem. I did not enter the correct directory of files in the global parameter file. thank you so much. but now I have a new problem with routing. "niloo@niloo-EP43T-USB3:~/Desktop/route_1.0/src$ make
g77 -O -C -ffixed-line-length-none  -c -o rout.o rout.f
make: g77: Command not found
make: *** [rout.o] Error 127"
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 10, 2017, 10:57:11 PM
Good to know your problem fixed..
Pls check the required FORTRAN compiler installed in your machine
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 11, 2017, 07:28:50 PM
It seems that the g77 compiler is not installed. I tried "sudo apt-get install g77" but it did not work. and I get "E: Package 'g77' has no installation candidate".
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 12, 2017, 02:35:47 PM
Try for offline installation... g77 is old compiler which may not be available for repository.. 
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 12, 2017, 03:02:48 PM
I have searched so much for installing g77, but I could not do anything. Could you give me more details about offline installation?
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 12, 2017, 07:07:54 PM
I could finally install g77, but when I try to run "make", I get this error:"/usr/bin/ld: cannot find crt1.o: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find crti.o: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lgcc_s
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [exe] Error 1"
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 13, 2017, 06:45:51 AM
Find those location and make a link to it.  Usually the location will be usr/lib/gcc .. If you are not able to link then copy the location to flag in make file provided with model source code .. hope this will work
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 14, 2017, 06:56:35 PM
Dear Diwan
I tried making the link to those files but it didn't work. I tried this command:

LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/libx32:$LIBRARY_PATH
export LIBRARY_PATH

It seems that the problem with crt1.o and crti.o is solved but it says:" /usr/bin/ld: skipping incompatible /usr/libx32/libm.so when searching for -lm
/usr/bin/ld: skipping incompatible /usr/libx32/libm.a when searching for -lm
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lgcc_s
/usr/bin/ld: skipping incompatible /usr/libx32/libc.so when searching for -lc
/usr/bin/ld: skipping incompatible /usr/libx32/libc.a when searching for -lc
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [exe] Error 1"
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 14, 2017, 07:59:25 PM
It looks the essential libraries are not installed in your machine.. update your machine and do it again
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: nsalimian on January 22, 2017, 11:29:27 AM
Hi
I could finally make the exe file for routing. now I have a problem with data preparation for vegetation parameter file. I want to use the global vegetation file from the VIC website. Can any one explain how I use it and how should I find the gridcel number for my basin?
Thank you inadvance
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: 619neha on December 12, 2017, 06:06:37 PM
Hello Sir/Ma'am,

I was running the VIC routing model for Gandak basin in Nepal area from 1979 to 2006. I got the 64 flux files for the basin to run the routing model (input). But when I ran, it showed the error:

NDAY =        10227  NMONTHS =          336
 1  NEPAL                   5   1
 Routing station: NEPAL               
 searching catchment...
 Number of grid cells upstream of present station          35
 reading grid_UH...
 making grid UH...
 reading UH_S grid from file
 making convolution...
           1  of          35 : /home/neha/Stehekin/stehekin/My_Results/fluxez_28.25_85.50
 Error reading time-series data, insufficient data or missing input file/home/neha/Stehekin/stehekin/My_Results/fluxez_28.25_85.50
 writing data...
Note: The following floating-point exceptions are signalling: IEEE_INVALID_FLAG IEEE_UNDERFLOW_FLAG

What can be the reason for this error?
I have attached the flow direction, flow fraction and input files.

Thank you
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on December 13, 2017, 12:40:04 PM
Hi
Pls Check the spelling in rout file... fluxez_ or fluxes_
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: 619neha on December 27, 2017, 03:02:24 PM
Thank you sir.
There was actually a problem in the format of the input file to the routing model (fluxez file).
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Muhammad Riaz on January 29, 2018, 11:52:52 PM
Please help i want to run with sample data this is
Muhammad Riaz@MuhammadRiaz-PC ~
$ ls
VIC.zip  vic_model

Muhammad Riaz@MuhammadRiaz-PC ~
$ cd vic_model

Muhammad Riaz@MuhammadRiaz-PC ~/vic_model
$ cd run

Muhammad Riaz@MuhammadRiaz-PC ~/vic_model/run
$ ls
Global_param.1  vicNl  vicNl.exe

Muhammad Riaz@MuhammadRiaz-PC ~/vic_model/run
$ vicNl.exe -gGlobal_param
-bash: vicNl.exe: command not found
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on January 30, 2018, 12:27:55 AM
Hi Riaz

Pls provide sufficient information while posting your query. You pls go through the VIC website for compiling the source code. You can also follow this thread http://wateradroit.com/forum/index.php/topic,205.0.html

Hope this will help you.
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Muhammad Riaz on January 30, 2018, 04:36:25 PM
Hi everyone
is the input files are different for all version of VIC model.?
or
The format of input files including Global parameter file is same for all version
Regards
Riaz
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Muhammad Riaz on January 30, 2018, 07:13:03 PM
Hi everyone
I have a 5771 grids data of 0.1 spatial and 24 hour temporal resolutions
To run the VIC model what should be the computational requirement?
I want to purchase a laptop please suggest specifications of laptop for VIC .
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Muhammad Riaz on February 01, 2018, 04:08:49 PM
Hi Diwan
I am running the model on sample data but this error is occuring
 "global_param.STEHE" has been
  opened for reading.... skipping header
WARNING: Unrecognized option in the global parameter file:
        ORGANIC_FRACT is unknown - check your spelling
WARNING: Unrecognized option in the global parameter file:
        VEGPARAM_LAI is unknown - check your spelling
WARNING: Unrecognized option in the global parameter file:
        LAI_SRC is unknown - check your spelling
Model run-time error...
To run the model with FULL_ENERGY=FALSE, FROZEN_SOIL=FALSE, and QUICK_FLUX=TRUE,                                                                                                                 you must define exactly 1 soil thermal node.  Currently Nnodes is set to  3.
...now exiting to system...
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Diwan on February 01, 2018, 06:21:55 PM
Hi
Explore the option carefully in the global parameter file. You need to specify atleast minimum required option to run the model according to your input parameter (Forcing, Soil parameter, Vegetation library and vegetation parameter) and mode of computation (Energy/water balance)
Title: Re: VIC hydrological model- sample data
Post by: Muhammad Riaz on February 03, 2018, 08:09:20 PM
Hi Diwan please help me I run the routing model but the model does not pic the ending words with 8 and model also change  the coordinates of VIC output fluxes
 making convolution...
           1  of          63 : ../output/fluxes_34.958_75.208
 ../output/fluxes_35.041_75.208 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.124_75.208 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
           4  of          63 : ../output/fluxes_35.208_75.208
 ../output/fluxes_34.958_75.124 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.041_75.124 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.124_75.124 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.208_75.124 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.291_75.124 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.374_75.124 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_34.874_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_34.958_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.041_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.124_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.208_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.291_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.374_75.041 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_34.874_74.958 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
          19  of          63 : ../output/fluxes_34.958_74.958
 ../output/fluxes_35.041_74.958 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.124_74.958 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
          22  of          63 : ../output/fluxes_35.208_74.958
 ../output/fluxes_35.291_74.958 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
 ../output/fluxes_35.374_74.958 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS
          25  of          63 : ../output/fluxes_35.458_74.958
 ../output/fluxes_34.874_74.874 NOT FOUND, INSERTING ZEROS